While some states have legalized the sale of medical and recreational marijuana, the law in Mississippi is still tough on marijuana sales. In fact, you could be facing the possibility of years in prison if you are accused of selling or trafficking marijuana in Mississippi.
In other words, the stakes are high, and anyone facing a marijuana charge will need to mount a strong criminal defense. With that in mind, here are some important things to understand about Mississippi's marijuana laws.
Mississippi has decriminalized marijuana possession for personal use, but getting caught will still cost you.
Technically, "personal use" means up to 30 grams -- or a little more than an ounce. However, there are still penalties for possessing 30 grams or less:
- First offense: a maximum fine of $250
- Second offense: a possible misdemeanor conviction, with a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $250
- Third offense: a possible misdemeanor conviction, with a mandatory minimum sentence of 5 days to 6 months in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000
Possessing larger amounts can lead to a felony conviction and years of incarceration.
If you are charged with possessing between 30 and 250 grams of marijuana, you face the possibility of a felony conviction, 1 to 3 years of incarceration, and a fine of up to $1,000. The penalties escalate quickly for possession of larger amounts. For example, possession of 500 grams to 1 kilogram carries a mandatory minimum sentence of 4 to 16 years in prison and a fine of up to $250,000.
The stakes are especially high if you are accused of selling marijuana. In fact, while possessing 30 grams for personal use may not be a crime, selling that same amount is a felony punishable by up to 3 years in jail and a fine of up to $3,000.
Don't wait to start protecting your rights and freedom.
If you are charged with a marijuana offense, you need a good lawyer. To learn more about these matters, please see our drug crime defense overview.