Duncan | Kent, PLLC

Comprehensive Legal Representation in Mississippi

Call Our Office Today

OFFICE LOCATION

Will I go to jail for a DUI in Mississippi?

When a person is arrested for a DUI in the Jackson area, they can feel scared and confused. A DUI is a serious crime, and it is aggressively prosecuted. The penalties for a DUI conviction can be severe and include jail time.

If a person is arrested for a DUI they are typically taken to jail for a short period of time until they are charged. The penalties for a first time DUI may include:

  • License suspension of 120 days
  • Ignition interlock device
  • 48 hours in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines
  • License reinstatement fee

The penalties increase for subsequent DUI arrests. The second offense in 5 years can bring the following penalties:

  • One-year driver’s license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • 5 days to 6 months in jail
  • Up to 6 months of community service
  • Up to $1,500 penalty
  • Possible forfeiture of vehicle

The third offense in five years brings these penalties:

  • 3 years driver’s license suspension
  • Up to 6 months in prison
  • Forfeiture of vehicle
  • Up to $5,000 fine
  • Ignition interlock device

If a person receives four DUIs in any time period they can face the following penalties:

  • Up to 10 years in jail
  • Up to $10,000 fine
  • Interlock restricted license up to 10 years after release from prison

As one can see, a DUI conviction can bring serious penalties. Those who are facing a DUI in Mississippi should understand the consequences and may want to seek out the help of an attorney who specializes in criminal defense. An attorney can aggressively defense their client against these charges and help protect their future.